

HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF 2022 – 2027

OF

ORDER PAPER

THE HONOURABLE THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF 2022–2027

NINETY-NINTH SITTING

at

10.00 o'clock a.m.

on

Monday, 17th February, 2025

Government Printing Department Barbados.

The First Meeting of the First Session of the Parliament of 2022-2027 was held on 4th February, 2022

ORDER PAPER

NINETY-NINTH SITTING

Monday, 17th February, 2025

ORDER PAPER: MONDAY, 17TH FEBRUARY, 2025 No. 99

MANAGEMENT COMMISSION OF PARLIAMENT

(Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap. 10 – Section 3(4))

The following are ex officio Members of the Commission:

His Honour A. E. Holder, S.C. (Chairman), Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley, S.C. and Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw.

Section 3(4) of the Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap. 10.

The following are appointed Members of the Commission:

Hon. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill, Hon. C. E. Jordan, Mr. P. R. Phillips, J.P. and Ms. T. N. S-A. Moore, J.P.

Appointed on 4th February, 2022.

SESSIONAL SELECT COMMITTEES

COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES

To consider and report to the Honourable the House of Assembly on all matters which involve the privileges of the Honourable the House of Assembly.

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour A. E. Holder, S.C. (Chairman) ex officio, Dr. R. O. Springer, J.P., Hon. K. D. M. Humphrey, Mr. N. G. H. Rowe, J.P., Her Honour Miss C. Y. Forde, J.P. and Hon. W. A. Abrahams, S.C.

Appointed on 4th February, 2022.

Hon. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill.

Appointed on 25th April, 2023.

COMMITTEE OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS

To examine the accounts showing the appropriation of the sums granted by Parliament to meet the public expenditure, accounts of any entities in which Government is a majority shareholder or hold a majority interest and of such other accounts laid before Parliament as the Committee may think fit.

The following are Members of this Joint Committee:

Mr. R. A. Thorne, K.C., Leader of the Opposition (Chairman) ex officio, *Mr.* E. G. Hinkson, S.C., Hon. Ms. M. K-A. Caddle, Hon. C. E. Jordan, Hon. C. *A. Lane, J.P. and Hon. K. D. Symmonds.*

Appointed on 4th February, 2022.

Hon. Ms. C. S. V. Husbands.

Appointed on 7th June, 2024.

STANDING ORDERS COMMITTEE

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour the Speaker (Chairman) ex officio, Dr. S. E. Browne, Hon. Miss K. S. McConney, Hon. Ms. M. K-A. Caddle, Hon. D. G. Sutherland, Hon. D. I. Ishmael and Hon. I. A. Weir.

Appointed on 4th February, 2022.

Hon. W. A. Abrahams, S.C., Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw and Mr. P. R. Phillips, J.P.

Appointed on 25th April, 2023.

LIBRARY COMMITTEE

The following are Members of this Joint Committee:

His Honour the Speaker (Chairman), Hon. A. R. Forde, Hon. R. R. Straughn, Hon. Ms. M. K-A. Caddle, Mr. T. A. Prescod, J.P., Hon. C. McD. Griffith and Dr. the Hon. W. F. Duguid, J.P.

Appointed on 4th February, 2022.

JOINT SELECT COMMITTEES (STANDING)

COMMITTEE ON GOVERNANCE AND POLICY MATTERS

The following are Members of this Joint Committee:

Mr. R. A. Thorne, K.C., Dr. R. O. Springer, J.P., Mr. E. G. Hinkson, S.C. and Mr. P. R. Phillips, J.P.

Appointed on 2nd May, 2023.

COMMITTEE ON ECONOMIC AND PRODUCTIVE SECTORS

The following are Members of this Joint Committee:

Mr. C. D. L. Gibbs, Dr. S. E. Browne, Hon. Ms. C. S. V. Husbands and Hon. Ms. M. K-A. Caddle.

Appointed on 2nd May, 2023.

COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL SECTOR AND ENVIRONMENT

The following are Members of this Joint Committee:

Ms. T. N. S-A. Moore, J.P. (Chairman), Hon. C. A. Lane, J.P., Her Honour Miss C. Y. Forde, J.P. and Mr. T. A. Prescod, J.P.

Appointed on 2nd May, 2023.

PRIVATE MEMBERS' BUSINESS

1. **Mr. E. G. Hinkson:** To move the passing of a Resolution that this House endorses the programme as annunciated in the Address of Her Excellency the President and its pledge to support the Government in its effective implementation of its said programme.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 21st February, 2022.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

(Standing Order 10 of the First Session)

"Unless the House otherwise directs, the business of each sitting day shall be transacted in the following order –

- (a) Formal entry of His Honour the Speaker.
- (b) Prayers.
- (c) Announcements by His Honour the Speaker.
- (d) Messages from Her Excellency the President.
- (e) Petitions.
- (f) Papers.
- (g) Government Notices.
- (h) Private Members' Notices.
- (i) Notices of Questions.
- (j) Reports from Select Committees.
- (k) First readings of Bills.
- (l) Statements by Ministers.
- (m) Congratulatory and/or obituary speeches.
- (n) Personal Explanations.
- (o) Motions for leave of absence.
- (p) Oral replies to questions.
- (q) Notices of motions for the adjournment of the House on matters of urgent public importance.
- (r) Orders of the day."

QUESTIONS

11

GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

1. Hon. K. D. Symmonds: To resume debate on the Second Reading of the Barbados Metrology Bill, 2022.

Notice of this Bill was given on 8th February, 2022.

The Bill was read a first time on 8th February, 2022.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 10th February, 2022.

On the 4th day of October, 2022 Hon. K. D. Symmonds began to speak. Further consideration of the Bill was postponed.

2. Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw: To move the Second Reading of the Copyright Bill, 2023.

Notice of this Bill was given on 9th August, 2023.

The Bill was read a first time on 11th August, 2023.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 14th August, 2023.

3. Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw: To move the Second Reading of the Storm Water Management Bill, 2024.

Notice of this Bill was given on 12th April, 2024.

The Bill was read a first time on 23rd April, 2024.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 29th April, 2024.

4. Hon. D. I. Ishmael: To move the Second Reading of the Health Services (Medical Reports) (Fees) (Validation) Bill, 2024.

Notice of this Bill was given on 20th September, 2024.

The Bill was read a first time on 30th September, 2024.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 1st October, 2024.

5. Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw: To move the Second Reading of the Road Traffic (Amendment) Bill, 2024.

Notice of this Bill was given on 16th December, 2024.

The Bill was read a first time on 17th December, 2024.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 6th January, 2025.

6. Hon. Miss K. S. McConney: To move the Second Reading of the Student Revolving Loan Fund Bill, 2025.

Notice of this Bill was given on 6th January, 2025.

The Bill was read a first time on 7th January, 2025.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 13th January, 2025.

7. Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley: To move the passing of a Resolution to approve the rates of salaries and allowances applicable to the post of Personal Assistants to Ministers as set out in the Schedule.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 11th Feburary, 2025.

8. Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley: To move the passing of a Resolution to approve the rates of salaries and allowances applicable to the posts of Personal Assistant, Executive Assistant, Press Secretary, Executive Personal Secretary and Clerical Officer to the Prime Minister as set out in the Schedule.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 11th Feburary, 2025.

9. Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley: To move the Second Reading of the Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries (Conditions of Service) Bill, 2025.

Notice of this Bill was given on 11th Febuary, 2025.

The Bill was read a first time on 11th February, 2025.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 13th February, 2025.

No. 99 ORDER PAPER: MONDAY, 17TH FEBRUARY, 2025

10. Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley: To move the Second Reading of the Appropriation Bill, 2025.

Notice of this Bill was given on 11th Febuary, 2025.

The Bill was read a first time on 11th February, 2025.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 13th February, 2025.